SEGA Megadrive Ultimate Collection announced

SEGA has revealed it’s set to bring the SEGA Mega Drive Ultimate Collection to PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360, worldwide early in 2009.

Featuring over 40 classic 16-bit titles – including Sonic the Hedgehog 1, 2 and 3, Columns, Alien Storm, Ecco the Dolphin, Space Harrier and Streets of Rage 1, 2 and 3 – SEGA is promising its back catalogue will be translated to current-gen platforms with “the utmost detail and accuracy”. It’s also delivering 720p support for added visual pizazz.

Alongside those Mega Drive titles, the Ultimate Collection will also feature bonus content from SEGA’s 8-bit Master System library, plus older arcade titles.

Needless to say, Wii Virtual Console users may be somewhat dismayed when the collection hits in one big reasonably-priced lump in 2009.

Exclusive Unlockable Content: Unlock arcade games and interviews with the original game developers as you earn Achievements on the Xbox 360® and Trophies on the PLAYSTATION®3.

Hi-definition Upgrade: All titles included in the collection have been converted to vivid hi-def (720p) visuals to truly enhance that classic 2D experience!

Multi-player Option: Two players can now enjoy select titles together on the same console at home.

The Most Comprehensive Collection of Classic SEGA Titles:
Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle
Alien Storm
Altered Beast
Beyond Oasis
Bonanza Bros.
Comix Zone
Decap Attack starring Chuck D. Head
Dr. Robotnik’s MBM
Dynamite Headdy
Ecco the Dolphin
Ecco II: The Tides of Time
Fatal Labyrinth
Gain Ground
Golden Axe I
Golden Axe II
Golden Axe III
Kid Chameleon
Phantasy Star II
Phantasy Star III: Generations of Doom
Phantasy Star IV: The End of the Millennium
Shining in the Darkness
Shining Force
Shining Force 2
Shinobi III: Return of the Ninja Master
Sonic 3D Blast
Sonic and Knuckles
Sonic Spinball
Sonic The Hedgehog
Sonic The Hedgehog 2
Sonic The Hedgehog 3
Streets of Rage
Streets of Rage 2
Streets of Rage 3
Super Thunder Blade
Vectorman 2

Posted in : Video Games

Leave a Reply